There’s Something: Adam Small

You can stop me
drinking a pepsi-cola
at the café
in the Avenue
or goin’ to
an Alhambra revue,
you can stop me doin’
some silly thing like that
but o
there’s somethin’ you can
never never do;
you can stop me boarding a carriage
on the Bellville run
white class
or sittin’ in front
of the X-line
on the Hout Bay bus,

you can stop me doin’
some silly thing like that
but o
there’s somethin’ you can
never never do;
you can stop me
goin’ to Grootte Schuur
in the same ambulance
as you
or tryin’ to go to heaven
from a Groote Kerk pew
you can stop me doin’
some silly thing like that
but o
there’s something you can
never never do;
true’s God
you can stop me doin’
all silly things of that sort
and to think of it
if it comes to that
you can even stop me hatin’
but o
there’s somethin’ you can
never never do –
you can’t
ever
ever
ever stop me
loving
even you!

Adam Small

One thought on “There’s Something: Adam Small

  1. this was always one of my favourite poems on high school i will always love his work. thank u Mr Adam small for all your hard work and in the apartheid years it couldn’t be easy writing or publishing that kind of work, RIP Sir

    Liked by 1 person

Please tell me here what you think about this poem!

